full stop punctuation

Close this search box.

Timeline of UK Monarchs and US Presidents

How many UK monarchs are there and who are they? They've been around since 1066. 723 year difference from the first US President.
22 min read

The UK monarchy and the US presidency are two different political systems, each with its own unique characteristics and features. The UK monarchy is a constitutional monarchy, where the monarch holds ceremonial and symbolic powers, while the government is run by elected officials. The US presidency, on the other hand, is a system of executive government, where the president is the head of state and head of government, and is directly elected by the people.

One of the main differences between the UK monarchy and the US presidency is the way that the leaders are selected. In the UK, the monarch is hereditary, and the position is passed down through the royal family. The monarch is not elected by the people, and they do not have any direct political power. In the US, the president is elected by the people through a system of popular voting and electoral college. The president serves a fixed term of four years, and they can be re-elected for a maximum of two terms.

Timeline of the first British Monarchs and US Presidents from 1066 to 2022

Another difference between the UK monarchy and the US presidency is the powers and responsibilities of the leaders. In the UK, the monarch has ceremonial and symbolic powers, such as signing laws into effect, granting royal assent, and representing the country on the world stage. However, the monarch does not have any direct political power, and the government is run by elected officials. In the US, the president is the head of state and head of government, and they have significant executive powers, such as appointing judges and officials, signing executive orders, and serving as commander-in-chief of the military.

Monarchs of the United Kingdom

House of Normandy

William I (the Conqueror) 1066-1087
William II 1087-1100
Henry I 1100-1135
Stephen 1135-1154
Henry II 1154-1189
Richard I (the Lionheart) 1189-1199
John I 1199-1216

House of Plantagenet

Henry III 1216-1272
Edward I (Longshanks) 1272-1307
Edward II 1307-1327
Edward III 1327-1377
Richard II 1377-1399
Henry IV 1399-1413
Henry V 1413-1422
Henry VI 1422-1471
Edward IV 1461-1483
Edward V 1483-1483
Richard III 1483-1485

House of Tudor

Henry VII 1485-1509
Henry VIII 1509-1547
Edward VI 1547-1553
Mary I 1553-1558
Elizabeth I 1558-1603

House of Stuart

James I 1603-1625
Charles I 1625-1649
Interregnum 1649-1660
Charles II 1660-1685
James II 1685-1688
William III 1688-1702
Mary II 1688-1694
Anne 1702-1714

House of Hanover

George I 1714-1727
George II 1727-1760
George III 1760-1820
George IV 1820-1830
William IV 1830-1837
Victoria 1837-1901
Edward VII 1901-1910

House of Windsor

George V 1910-1936
Edward VIII 1936-1936
George VI 1936-1952
Elizabeth II 1952-2022
Charles III 2022 – Present

Presidents of the United States of America

George Washington 1789-1797
John Adams 1797-1801
Thomas Jefferson 1801-1809
James Madison 1809-1817
James Monroe 1817-1825
John Quincy Adams 1825-1829
Andrew Jackson 1829-1837
Martin Van Buren 1837-1841
William H. Harrison 1841
John Tyler 1841-1845
James K. Polk 1845-1849
Zachary Taylor 1849-1850
Millard Fillmore 1850-1853
Franklin Pierce 1853-1857
James Buchanan 1857-1861
Abraham Lincoln 1861-1865
Andrew Johnson 1865-1869
Ulysses S. Grant 1869-1877
Rutherford B. Hayes 1877-1881
James A. Garfield 1881
Chester A. Arthur 1881-1885
Grover Cleveland 1885-1889
Benjamin Harrison 1889-1893
Grover Cleveland 1893-1897
William McKinley 1897-1901
Theodore Roosevelt 1901-1909
William Howard Taft 1909-1913
Woodrow Wilson 1913-1921
Warren Harding 1921-1923
Calvin Coolidge 1923-1929
Herbert Hoover 1929-1933
Franklin D. Roosevelt 1933-1945
Harry S. Truman 1945-1953
Dwight D. Eisenhower 1953-1961
John F. Kennedy 1961-1963
Lyndon B. Johnson 1963-1969
Richard Nixon 1969-1974
Gerald Ford 1974-1977
Jimmy Carter 1977-1981
Ronald Reagan 1981-1989
George H. W. Bush 1989-1993
Bill Clinton 1993-2001
George W. Bush 2001-2009
Barack Obama 2009-2017
Donald Trump 2017-2021
Joe Biden 2021-2024
Ron DeSantis 2024-2028

Overall, the UK monarchy and the US presidency are two different political systems, with different ways of selecting leaders and different powers and responsibilities. While the UK monarchy is a ceremonial and symbolic institution, the US presidency is a system of executive government, with the president serving as the head of state and head of government.


Thank you for reading ♥ Please leave a comment

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x